From education to employment
Emsi becomes Lightcast

Education Committee to examine children’s mental health and wellbeing – Tuesday 8 February, 10am  

Child with adult on laptop
SkillsWorld Live - Why is qualification reform so controversial?

The Education Committee will hold an evidence session focusing on children’s mental health and wellbeing on Tuesday, 8th February from 10am. 

The cross-party Committee will use the session to question experts on how the pandemic has impacted children’s mental health and wellbeing following disruption to their education and social lives. The Committee will also consider what policy changes could support young people’s mental health. 

The Committee is likely to ask questions around the societal costs or benefits of policies that support children’s wellbeing and resilience. There may also be questions about the outcomes of the Government’s 2018 Green Paper on children and young people’s mental health. 

Among the witnesses will be Lord Gus O’Donnell, a former Cabinet Secretary under three prime ministers, and who chaired the Legatum Institute’s Commission on Wellbeing and Policy which reported in March 2014. 

MPs will also question Mouhssin Ismail, Principal of Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre, where the philosophy is that “for students to succeed and flourish… their mental and physical well-being needs to be looked after and catered for just as much as their academic interests”. 

They will be joined by Catherine Roche, the Chief Executive of children’s mental health charity Place2Be, and Lord Richard Layard, an economist who was also a Commissioner for the Legatum Institute’s Commission on Wellbeing and Policy.  

Witness schedule    

This session will be available to watch live and on demand on Parliament.TV.  

Tuesday 8 February at 10am:    

· Lord Gus O’Donnell 

· Catherine Roche, Chief Executive Officer, Place2Be 

· Mouhssin Ismail, Principal, NCS London    

· Lord Richard Layard 

Committee Membership: Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP (Con, Harlow), Apsana Begum MP (Lab, Poplar and Limehouse), Miriam Cates MP (Con, Penistone and Stocksbridge), Brendan Clarke-Smith MP (Con, Bassetlaw), Tom Hunt MP (Con, Ipswich), Dr Caroline Johnson MP (Con, Sleaford and North Hykeham), Kim Johnson MP (Lab, Liverpool Riverside), Ian Mearns MP (Lab, Gateshead), Kate Osborne MP (Lab, Jarrow), Nicola Richards MP (Con, West Bromwich East), Christian Wakeford MP (Lab, Bury South).    

Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Education, Social impact

Related Articles

City & Guilds Associate Vacancies available - FE News