From education to employment

Eight awards handed out at ceremony

“CEL presents awards to eight learner voice leaders

The Centre for Excellence in Leadership (CEL) presented “Leading the Learner voice awards” to eight of the best examples of provider, practitioner and learner leadership.

The awards were established to recognise the work of organizations and individuals leading the learner voice agenda and to disseminate examples of best practice, so that leaders can learn and develop from the process.

Kat Fletcher, CELs leadership of Learners strategic coordinator, said: “Throughout the further education system, thousands of learners are actively engaged in leadership, representation and quality improvement.They are supported by active, motivated practitioners and embedded models of support from providers.”

The award categories were Student Governor of the Year, Student Liaison Officer of the Year, Most Improved Provider, Principal of the Year, Representative Organisation of the Year, Provider of the Year, Leading Learner of the Year and Outstanding Contribution to the Leadership of Learners.

Congratulating the winners at the ceremony, the education minister, Bill Rammell said, “I am extremely committed to the learner voice agenda; it really does change lives, and I wouldnt be where I am today if I hadnt had the opportunity of being a student representative when I was younger./P>

“CEL is to be applauded for its work in promoting the learner voice.”

The winners of CEL’s Leading the learner voice awards 2007 are:

* Student governor of the year: Shane Griffiths, Worcester College ofTechnology

* Student liaison officer of the year: Jay Moore, Leicester College

* Most improved provider of the year: Cornwall College

* Principal of the year: Richard Parker, Chichester College

* Representative organisation of the year: Bridge College

* Provider of the year: City and Islington College

* Leading learner of the year: Kathryn Dodgson, Blackpool Sixth FormCollege

* Outstanding contribution to the leadership of learners: Ellie Russell,National Union of Students

Keisha Nelson

Related Articles