From education to employment

Quality of apprenticeships and skills training inquiry

Education Committee

Education Committee to question training providers and policy experts – Tuesday 13 March at 9.45am

The Education Committee is to question training providers and apprenticeship policy experts as part of its inquiry into the quality of apprenticeships and skills training.

Among the witnesses will be representatives from the Association of Colleges, FE Week, the Learning and Work Institute, Leonard Cheshire Disability, training provider Middleton Murray, the National Society of Students and awarding organisation NOCN.

The session is likely to focus on how the quality of apprenticeships and training is defined, who is responsible for the quality and how best to remove barriers to access to high quality training.

The inquiry is examining whether employers, learners and tax payers are getting value for the time and money invested in training, and whether more needs to be done to detect poor-quality provision.

The session is the third of the quality of apprenticeships and skills training inquiry.

Witness schedule

Tuesday 13 March, Room 15, Palace of Westminster

At 9.45am

  • Stephen Evans, Chief Executive, Learning and Work Institute
  • Graham Hasting-Evans, Managing Director, NOCN
  • Neil Heslop OBE, Chief Executive, Leonard Cheshire Disability
  • Nick Linford, Editor, FE Week

At 10.40am

  • Dr Alison Birkinshaw OBE, President, Association of Colleges
  • Angela Middleton, Chief Executive, MiddletonMurray
  • Simon Hawthorn, Leadership Team, National Society of Apprentices

On 27 February, the Committee took evidence from Paul Devoy, Chief Executive, Investors in People, Jane Gratton, Head of Business Environment and Skills Policy, British Chambers of Commerce, Kevin Rowan, Head of Organisation, Services and Skills, TUC, Tim Thomas, Director of Employment and Skills Policy, EEF – The Manufacturers’ Organisation. 

On 16 January, the Committee took evidence from Joe Dromey, Senior Research Fellow, IPPR, Dr Carole Easton, Chief Executive, Young Women’s Trust, Dr Lee Elliot Major, Chief Executive, Sutton Trust. 

Committee Membership: Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP (Con, Harlow), Lucy Allan MP (Con, Telford), Michelle Donelan MP (Con, Chippenham), Marion Fellows MP (SNP, Motherwell and Wishaw), James Frith MP (Lab, Bury North), Emma Hardy MP (Lab, Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle), Trudy Harrison MP (Con, Copeland), Ian Mearns MP (Lab, Gateshead), Lucy Powell MP (Lab Co-op, Manchester Central), Thelma Walker MP (Lab, Colne Valley), William Wragg MP (Con, Hazel Grove) 

Related Articles