From education to employment

Apprenticeship Award Winner 2022

Newtown College Apprentice Theo Buttery has won the Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Apprenticeship Award 2022.

Theo was presented with the award by Stuart Castledine, Master 2022/3 Worshipful Livery Company of Wales at a ceremony at Newtown College. Keith Shankland Liveryman from the Worshipful Livery Company of Wales also attended along with Theo’s employer O.R.E. Brickwork and his family and friends.

Stuart Castledine began the ceremony with a short history of the awards and the Livery Companies. He stated that Livery Companies could trace their origins back to the 12th Century but that the main role of the Livery guilds hadn’t changed. Their purpose was to protect the quality and reputation of a trade and the members of a company.  The Worshipful Livery of Wales was set up 30 years ago to support such activities in Wales. It aims to nurture Welsh talent and promote education, science and technology, with the particular promotion of skills and associated professional activities in Wales. Worshipful Livery Awards aim to develop the talents of young people throughout Wales.

Theo was nominated for the Apprenticeship Award by Clare Ward and Theo’s Brickwork lecturer, Bill Evans. Theo has been given the award for his commitment and dedication to his apprenticeship in Brickwork in achieving His Level 2 NVQ, He is now working towards his Level 3 NVQ.

Clare said: “Theo is an excellent example of how you can achieve your goal with dedication and commitment. Theo came to us at NPTC Group of Colleges and had not achieved the qualifications he wanted, however, with his determination and encouragement from his Lecturer Bill Evans, he has proven to be an excellent student who has excelled himself in his work.”

Theo’s employer Keiran Evans, O.R.E. Brickwork Ltd has supported him throughout his apprenticeship and said: “He is an excellent member of the O.R.E Brickwork team. This is the second year running that O.R.E Brickwork have had a Worshipful Livery Company of Wales award recipient and we are delighted.”

Related Articles