From education to employment

Strength of Provision in Deeside College Celebrated by Local Community and Supported by Busi

The continuing tale of Welsh excellence turned over yet another new page recently as the students and staff of Deeside College welcomed David Barratt, Vice Chairman of the Flintshire County Council, and other guests to recognise the achievements of the students.

The attainment of the students in the first cross college awards ceremony was recognised by local businesses as well. The winning students were drawn from all departments of the college, and ranged from prizes for academic / training excellence, through prizes offered for the help and assistance provided to other students, all the way to recognition for those students whose path to learning success has been more difficult to traverse.

Notable Examples

One of the winners was the Early Years Student of the Year, Emma Mayes. She is a high achieving student who has been studying on the BTEC National Diploma in Early Years course since she left school at 16. She has demonstrated her exceptional commitment to learning and her own development, completing this course as well as additional qualifications in Braille, sign language and Welsh, at the same time as working several nights a week, running the family home and looking after her sister. She plans to use her qualifications to build a career in supporting families with young children in disadvantaged areas.

Another notable winner was the only student to walk off with two prizes. Stephen Rodham, the first Male President of the Student Association, was awarded the Contribution to College Life Award in recognition of his work with the Student Association. Stephen is active in fund raising and charitable events, ensuring that they are a success and building a strong network with students and staff at Deeside College. The second prize was the Business Student of the Year prize for his high standards of coursework and dedication to his studies.

The complete list of winners is as follows, together with where they are from; Susan Dougan ““ Mold; Adam Lewis ““ Holywell; Ben Latham ““ Shotton; Hayley Howell ““ Flint; Jade Harrison – Connahs Quay; Dennis Mahar ““ Wirral; Stephen Davies – Connahs Quay; Candice Harper ““ Holywell; Stephen Rodham ““ Saltney; Martin Gould – Connahs Quay; Helen Perry ““ Wrexham; Mark Williams ““ Flint; Steven Weatherley ““ Flint; Judy Brown ““ Flint; Noureddine Jaafri ““ Denbighshire; Victoria Bowley ““ Saltney; and Jamie Dunning ““ Chester.

Deeside Dee ““ lighted?

Amongst the luminaries from the financial, industrial, local government and commercial worlds who were happy to sponsor a prize in this event were Airbus UK, Beauty Express, BOSCH/Chester Exhaust Supplies, Cheshire County Council, Corus Living Solutions, Flintshire County Council, Flintshire Local Voluntary Council, Goldwell, Grahams Machinery, Heathcotes, Huws Gray, Just Go, Lifestyle Fitness,, Pearl Aroma, Rollings and Thorncliffe Building Supplies.

The Principal and Chief Executive of the College, David Jones, said: “This was our first cross-college awards ceremony which highlighted the excellent progress and achievements that our students have made. Many of our award winners are now moving on to university, jobs and apprenticeships where they will use the skills and experience they have developed during their courses; others are continuing to study at the college, to continue their development.”

“The awards ceremony was a huge success and was a great opportunity to celebrate the achievement of so many students,” he continued before concluding by thanking partners in the awards and taking a glance ahead, saying: “It will become a firm fixture in the Deeside College calendar. We are very grateful to David Barratt for supporting our students by presenting them with these awards and our thanks also go to our generous sponsors, who have made a major contribution to this event.”

Jethro Marsh

Stay here for the monkey’s thoughts with From the FE Trenches!

Related Articles