From education to employment

Leeds Beckett University Professor Awarded Scandinavian Human Dignity Award 2021

Professor Grahn-Farley, from Leeds Law School at Leeds Beckett University (@leedsbeckett), has been awarded the prestigious Scandinavian Human Dignity Award 2021 for her outstanding contribution to children’s rights over many years.

The award recognises the contribution her legal commentary on the Convention of the Rights of the Child has made to the fight against sex trafficking of children. The book was awarded the Swedish academic book award of 2019.

Professor Maria Grahn-Farley, from Leeds Law School at Leeds Beckett University, said:

“I am honoured to have won the Scandinavian Human Dignity Award and be celebrated with past winners before me. They have all made a profound impact on the lives of vulnerable children and adults.

I would like to mention the bravery of the panel that awarded this prize to me. They had the courage to raise the uncomfortable topic of sex trafficking that unaccompanied children arriving in Sweden were facing back in 2015. They raised the subject at a time in Sweden when no other organisation was debating the risk that children would fall victims of commercial sexual exploitation. This is why I feel proud to receive this prize.’’

Before teaching at Leeds Law School, Professor Grahn-Farley taught in the United States and Sweden and holds a Doctoral Degree (S.J.D) and Masters of Law (LL.M) from Harvard Law School and Gothenburg University, Sweden. Professor Grahn-Farley currently teaches legal research and critical legal theory, focusing on climate justice and child rights.

Each year, the Scandinavian Human Dignity Award is presented by the Scandinavian Human Rights Lawyers and Committee, to a person or an organisation which has made a special contribution to human rights.

Previous winners of the Scandinavian Human Dignity Award include: Bryan Stevenson for his work against the death penalty and civil rights in the United States, and Dr. Denis Mukwege, the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Related Articles