From education to employment


The Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT) today reveals the shortlist for this year’s Training Provider Awards, which celebrate the achievements of providers and individuals who have demonstrated excellence in the delivery of AAT qualifications.

Over 100 applications, a record for the awards which are now in their third year, were received across 12 categories, including a new award for ‘AAT Champion’. In addition, the shortlist for the ‘Tutor of the Year’ category, voted for by students, is published today. The ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award, to be presented to a long-serving AAT Tutor, will be announced at the awards ceremony itself.

The judging panel for the awards consisted of former AAT President Henry Cooper, editor of PQ Magazine Graham Hambly, AAT head of product development Rachel Kellett, and AAT centre support team manager Ross Grange. 

The winners of all 14 awards will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 5 May, during the AAT 2016 Training Provider Conference at the Birmingham Metropole Hotel.

Mark Farrar, CEO of AAT, said: “These awards have quickly captured the imagination of training providers both in the UK and abroad, and we are thrilled that we have seen in excess of 100 applications for the first time. Entries were of the highest calibre and our judges have had their work cut out selecting the winners. We congratulate all of our shortlisted providers and individuals.

“We also want to take the opportunity to thank the sponsors for the awards, Kaplan Publishing, Osborne Books, the ACCA and the ICAEW, without whom we could not host this prestigious event.”

The shortlist in full is as follows:

Training provider of the year – small
Rotherham College
Damar Training
Crunch Academy
East Riding College

Training provider of the year – medium
Training Place of Excellence
Middlesbrough College
North Hertfordshire College
First Intuition Cambridge

Training provider of the year – large
Norfolk Community Learning Services
ICS Learn
BPP Professional Education
Bedford College

Pauline Sparkes Award for Best new training provider
PACA Adult Learning
Learning Academy Private Listed
Southend Adult Community College
Portsmouth College

Distance learning provider of the year
Premier Training
First Intuition Distance Learning
BPP Professional Education 
Home Learning College

Apprenticeship training provider of the year
Starting Off
Kaplan Financial
BPP Professional Education
South Devon College

International training provider of the year
Botswana Accountancy College (Francistown)
Al Moalem Institute
Botho University
Botswana Accountancy College

Best use of e-learning
Premier Training
Learning Academy Private Limited
Kaplan Distance Learning
Home Learning College

AAT Champion
South Devon College
Accountancy Learning
Kaplan Financial
Premier Training

Student of the year
Biniam Asres (Finance Management Business School)
Tatyana Labno (Bath College)
Andrew Young (Preston College)
Jessica Leyland (Premier Training)

Distance learner of the year
Anurag Rai (ICS Learn)
Alys Stuart (First Intuition Distance Learning)
Amy Rowe (Home Learning College)
Thomas Brinsley (Home Learning College)

Apprentice of the year
Johnny Javier Morales Solorzano (Training Place of Excellence)
Lisa Cochran (Damar Training)
Matthew Johns (Accountancy Learning Ltd)
Ellenor Stavert (Training 2000)

Tutor of the year
Bridget Vaughan, Lambeth College: Clapham Centre      
Mudassar Zafar, Richmond Business School
Jaime Brahmbhatt, Newham College of Further Education           
Caroline Warburton, iCount Training

To find out more about the awards please visit:

Related Articles