From education to employment

Early years practitioner (level 2): qualifications criteria

The criteria for the minimum qualification content of level 2 early years practitioners qualifications.

Early years practitioner (level 2) qualifications criteria

This is for:

  • early years practitioners
  • early years employers
  • settings offering early years education
  • local authorities
  • childminders
  • awarding organisations
  • further education college/training provider staff

It sets out the minimum knowledge, understanding and skills that a level 2 early years practitioner needs to demonstrate to be considered qualified to support young children from birth to 5 years old.

The level 2 qualifications will be available from 1 September 2019.

The ‘Early years educator (level 3): qualifications criteria’ is also available.

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn, develop, and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children have the skills they need to start school and a broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good progress through school and life.

Related Articles