From education to employment

Basingstoke College of Technology (BCoT) Teacher honoured in national celebration of teaching #ClassroomHeroes

(L to R) BCoT student Jess James, Lecturer Scott Hayden, BCoT Principal Anthony Bravo and students Oliver Cummins and Jazmine Milton.

A teacher at Basingstoke College of Technology (BCoT) has won a Pearson National Teaching Silver Award in the category Digital Innovator of the Year, supported by Google.

Scott Hayden, who is a Creative Media lecturer and Digital Innovation Specialist at the college, is one of 68 Silver Award winners across the country and has been shortlisted for the UK’s “Oscars for Teachers”. 

Selected from thousands of nominations, Scott’s outstanding achievement is being celebrated today [19 June], on ‘Thank A Teacher Day’ alongside his fellow Silver Award winners across England, Wales and Northern Ireland, as the Pearson National Teaching Awards marks its 21st year of celebrating excellence in education.

BCoT Principal Anthony Bravo who presented the prestigious trophy said:

“I am extremely proud and delighted to present this award to Scott on behalf of Pearson UK. He has made an enormous contribution to the college and has been instrumental in our drive to deliver engaging teaching and learning experiences through the use of digital technology”.

The Pearson National Teaching Awards is an annual celebration of exceptional teachers, founded in 1998 by Lord Puttnam to recognise the life-changing impact an inspirational teacher can have on the lives of the young people they teach – many of whom go on to train as teachers themselves thanks to the significant impact their teachers have had on them.

Scott Hayden has been shortlisted to win one of just 13 Gold Awards at the UK’s “Oscars for Teachers”. He will join fellow Silver Award winners, along with three Scottish Education Award winners and three winners of the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru, at the 21st UK ceremony of the Pearson Teaching Awards.

The glittering event is to be held at the Roundhouse on 20 October and broadcast on BBC2 the following week, on 27 October, as part of “Britain’s Classroom Heroes” which showcases excellence in education.

Previous award presenters include former Prime Ministers David Cameron and Tony Blair, acting legends Jenny Agutter, Alison Steadman and Sheila Hancock, as well as sports and TV personalities including Shirley Ballas, Helen Glover, Brendan Cole and Nadiya Hussain.

Today, on ‘Thank A Teacher Day’, and throughout this week the Teaching Awards Trust – the charity that runs the awards – is asking people up and down the country to say “thank you” to a teacher who has made a significant difference in their lives.

The Thank A Teacher campaign allows members of the public to send teachers a card in the post for free, by completing an online form and including a personal message. It takes two minutes but has a lasting impact on those exceptional teachers who receive them. 

Rod Bristow, President of Pearson UK, said:

“Congratulations to all of our Silver Award winners being presented with a silver trophy by their pupils today. On Thank A Teacher Day, it’s a wonderful chance for them to say thank you to their award-winning teachers. We mustn’t forget that these pupils may well be the next generation of teachers, and that’s all thanks to the commitment of those currently in the profession. Recognising and celebrating teachers for the lasting impact they have on young people’s lives is crucial, and that’s why Pearson is delighted to support these Awards every year.”

Education Secretary Damian Hinds said:

“To be shortlisted for this award from thousands of nominations across the UK is a fantastic achievement and a testament to all of the winners’ commitment to the profession. I’m delighted that we are supporting the Pearson Teaching Awards to recognise the life-changing effect inspirational teachers have on the lives of young people.

“Teachers deserve our thanks every day, but as today is dedicated to them, I want to take the opportunity to give my personal thanks to each and every one of the 450,000 teachers up and down the country who are inspiring the next generation day in, day out.

“Meeting teachers and their pupils is the best part of my job and it’s been a pleasure to have visited over 100 schools since joining the Department. I’m constantly in awe of the dedication and enthusiasm I see both in and out of the classroom.”

The full list of winners will be published by Pearson UK at 5pm on Wednesday 19 June.

Related Articles