From education to employment

Three new members announced for Ofqual Board

The independent regulator announces 3 new appointments to its Board.

The new board members are Susan Barratt, Matt Tee and Mike Thompson. They will take up their positions on 1 September 2019, joining the 9 existing members.

Their terms are each for 3 years. Appointments to the Ofqual Board are made by the Secretary of State for Education. In addition, Roger Taylor, Chair of Ofqual’s Board, has been reappointed to serve a further 3-year term, from January 2020.

Roger Taylor, Chair of Ofqual, said:

I am delighted to welcome Susan, Matt and Mike to the Ofqual Board. They each bring considerable experience and knowledge that will supplement the rich and diverse range of skills and backgrounds of our existing members. I am sure they will contribute greatly to Ofqual’s important work as we play our part in delivering an effective qualifications system fit for today and for the future.

I am also honoured to have been asked by the Secretary of State to serve a further term as Chair, and look forward to working closely with the Department for Education to achieve the very best we can for all learners in England over coming years.

Below is some further information on the board members:

Susan Barratt

Formerly an audit partner at Deloitte, where her work focussed on the public and not-for-profit sectors, including responsibility for leading and setting the strategy for Deloitte’s HE audit practice supporting teams. Ms Barratt is also a marker and examiner for the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and holds a number of other trustee roles, including for Nuffield Oxford Hospitals Trust.

Matt Tee

Chief Executive of the Independent Press Standards Organisation. Mr Tee previously held a number of senior level roles in government and NHS/healthcare related industries, including Permanent Secretary for Communication in the Cabinet Office/No10.

Mike Thompson

Mike Thompson100x100Previously involved with apprenticeships for 7 years through his role as Director of Early Careers at Barclays Bank and as Chair of the Financial Services Trailblazer Group. Mr Thompson has also held the role of Route panel chair for Apprenticeships and T Levels in legal, accounting and financial services with the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education. Mr Thompson was also previously a member of the government’s Apprenticeships Sector Development Board.

Ofqual’s Board also includes Ian Bauckham CBE, Delroy Beverley, Lesley Davies OBE, Professor Mike Cresswell, Hywel Jones, Dame Christine Ryan, Dr Jo Saxton, Frances Wadsworth and David Wakefield.

The appointments were conducted and agreed in accordance with the Governance Code on Public Appointments and were made on merit.

In accordance with the original Nolan recommendations and the Code, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) and other information, to be made public. None of the appointees have declared any conflicts of interest or political activity.

The roles are remunerated at £6,000 per annum, for an estimated time commitment of 20 days’ work.

Related Articles