From education to employment

Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize: nominate outstanding pupils

How secondary schools in the North East should nominate outstanding pupils for the annual Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize.

We invite secondary schools and sixth-form colleges from across the North East region to nominate pupils from year 11 or 12 for the prize.

The prize recognises pupils achieving academic excellence as well as dedicating themselves to the service of others in their school and the wider community.

How to nominate pupils

Nominations for the 2018 prize are now open and the closing date for entries is Friday 19 October 2018. We will announce the winner and the 9 runners-up in December 2018.

Every year, headteachers and principals can nominate any year 11 and 12 pupils who have shown:

  • academic performance – with an emphasis on comparative excellence
  • civic contribution – particularly volunteering personal time and resource; for example, by mentoring younger pupils, helping with extracurricular events, or working with a youth group or a charity outside of school hours
  • interest in government, education, history or public service

See the form headteachers should use to nominate pupils.

The prize

As well as celebrating their achievement, the prize gives the winner the opportunity to pursue their interest in public service and education.

We will invite the winner of the 2018 prize to a 2-day work experience placement at the Department for Education’s London office. We will pay all travel and accommodation costs for the winner and an accompanying adult.

The Secretary of State for Education will present the prize at a London university in February 2019. The winner and 9 runners-up will tour the university campus.

Published 25 March 2014
Last updated 16 August 2018 + show all updates

  1. Updated with 2018 prize information.
  2. Updated with information about the 2016 prize.
  3. Updated the guide to explain that nominations for the 2015 prize have now closed.
  4. Updated with information about the 2015 prize.
  5. Updated information on who the prize is open to, when nominations will open, and when we will send out full details to schools.
  6. First published.

Related Articles