From education to employment

Regional Learner Passport Partnership pathways website picks up national award

#DigiTransform21 – A website, created in partnership between colleges and universities from Fife, Edinburgh, Lothian, Borders, Falkirk and Stirling, has won the ‘Best Use of Technology in Education’ award at the first Herald Digital Transformation Awards.

The ‘Pathways’ website, a product of the Regional Learner Passport Partnership (RLPP), has been recognised for playing a key role in helping increase the visibility of positive learner pathways from college to a degree.

Led by Fife College, alongside Edinburgh College and Queen Margaret University, the RLPP, which includes a total of 14 tertiary education institutions, created a web solution which pulls together often complex articulation information into one platform, making information on routes from SQA Higher National (HN) qualifications to university degrees more accessible.

With so many pathways and routes of study from Higher National Certificate and Diploma to degrees, and advertising, promotion and understanding of routes often complex, the Pathways website has helped make things easier for pupils, students, parents and advisers to navigate.

Launched in July 2020, the website has already had thousands of views, providing a ‘one-stop shop’ for those looking for information on education pathways.

Heather Anderson, Vice Principal at Borders College said:

“I am delighted that the “Pathways” website has been recognised with the “Best Use of Technology in Education” award.  We were involved at a very early stage in the development of this unique platform and continue to support its further development.

“Borders College students are benefiting from this website as it provides relevant, up-to-date information on the degree options available to them following completion of their Higher National qualification.”

The Herald Digital Transformation Awards were created to celebrate how organisations across all sectors successfully have adopted digital technology into daily practices, particularly in the wake of the pandemic.

The winners of the Herald Digital Transformation Awards 2021 were announced during a virtual awards ceremony on Thursday 4 November.

Full list of colleges and universities involved in the Regional Learner Passport Partnership (RLPP):

  • Fife College
  • Borders College
  • Edinburgh College
  • Forth Valley College
  • Newbattle Abbey College
  • West Lothian College
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • Open University
  • Queen Margaret University
  • University of Edinburgh
  • Scotland’s Rural University College (SRUC)
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Stirling

Related Articles