From education to employment

Universities UK Board election results

At the close of the Electoral Reform Services (ERS) ballot on 1 May 2019, the following Universities UK (UUK) members have been elected to serve on the UUK Board.

Vice-President (England and Northern Ireland) to serve for two academic years from 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2021: Professor Paddy Nixon, Vice-Chancellor and President, Ulster University.

Vice-President (Wales) to serve for two academic years from 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2021: Professor Julie Lydon OBE, Vice-Chancellor of the University of South Wales, has been re-elected for a second term by virtue of her re-election to Chair of Universities Wales.

UUK Treasurer to serve from 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2020 (the remainder of the term of the previous UUK Treasurer, Professor Julia Buckingham): Professor Paul Layzell, Principal, Royal Holloway, University of London.

Five elected Board members. (There were originally four posts, but a fifth post has arisen because of Professor Paddy Nixon being elected to a new post on the Board):

  • Professor Chris Day, Vice-Chancellor and President, Newcastle University
  • Professor Sir Chris Husbands, Vice-Chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Professor Sally Mapstone, Principal, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Edward Peck, Vice-Chancellor, Nottingham Trent University.
  • Professor Rama Thirunamachandran, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Canterbury Christ Church University

It was announced in March 2019 that Professor Julia Buckingham CBE, Vice-Chancellor and President of Brunel University London, has been elected as the next President of Universities UK following a ballot of Universities UK’s members. 

Professor Buckingham will take up the post from 1 August 2019 and will hold the position for two years. The current UUK President is Professor Dame Janet Beer, Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool.


  1. The UUK Board is elected by its members and is the organisation’s main decision-making body. 80% of UUK’s membership voted in this ballot. For more information on the UUK board and its members, see here.
  2. Universities UK is the collective voice of 136 universities in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Its mission is to create the conditions for UK universities to be the best in the world; maximising their positive impact locally, nationally and globally. Universities UK acts on behalf of universities, represented by their heads of institution.



Visit our web site:

Follow us on Twitter: @UniversitiesUK                              

Read the UUK Blog:


Lifesavers Email Signature coming soon 6




This message is confidential. If you are not the intended recipient you should not copy or disclose this message to anyone but should kindly notify the sender and delete the message. Opinions, conclusions and other information in this message which do not relate to the official business of Universities UK shall be understood as neither given nor endorsed by it. No contracts shall be concluded by means of this email. Neither Universities UK nor the sender accepts any responsibility for viruses and it is your responsibility to scan this email and any attachments. Universities UK reserves the right to access and disclose all messages sent over its email system. Registered Office: Woburn House, 20 Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9HQ. Registered Company in England & Wales No. 2517018 Registered Charity No. 1001127

Related Articles