From education to employment

Removing key skills criteria

Ofqual announces intention to withdraw redundant regulations for key skills criteria.

Today, (3 Aug) Ofqual announce their intention to withdraw the Criteria for Key Skills Qualifications.

The criteria were originally developed by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority in 2000, and set out rules and regulations for Key Skills qualifications.

From 2012, the government introduced Functional Skills qualifications, which largely replaced Key Skills. There are currently just 9 Key Skills qualifications available to new learners in England, all offered by a single awarding organisation.

Ofqual have reviewed the criteria in detail, and set out our analysis in the table below.

Their view is that none of these rules are needed, and they can continue to regulate the remaining Key Skills qualifications effectively using the General Conditions of Recognition.

As a result, retaining the criteria would impose an unnecessary regulatory burden. They intend to formally withdraw them on 31 August 2017.

Because they are redundant, withdrawing the criteria will not affect existing key skills qualifications, or schools and colleges that use them. Awarding organisations can continue to offer key skills qualifications, and no changes are required. Schools and colleges can continue to use these qualifications as they do currently.

If you have any comments or questions, please email Ofqual.

Detailed analysis of current criteria

Current rule Ofqual view
Qualifications that use any of the following terms in their titles must be based on the specifications developed by the regulators:
• Key Skills
• Key Skills qualifications
• application of number
• communication
• information technology
• improving own learning and performance
• problem solving
• working with others
Rule not needed

Developing qualification specifications is outside Ofqual’s remit. It is not appropriate to require awarding organisations to continue using a specification developed by a predecessor organisation many years ago.

Qualifications in Key Skills must use the assessment model specified by the regulators. Rule not needed

General Conditions of Recognition already require qualifications to use the most appropriate assessment methods (Condition D1), and assessments to be fit for purpose (Condition E4.2).

If the assessment method includes tests, awarding organisations must use the agreed national tests and allow candidates to take the tests as many times as they want. If the tests do not have pre-set pass marks, the awarding organisations must agree the pass marks at meetings that include all of the awarding organisations involved in the relevant assessment series. Rule not needed

This requirement is redundant because it could conflict with, for example, General Conditions D1 and G1 – and awarding organisations must comply with the Conditions where they conflict with the criteria.

In addition, it is not currently possible to comply with this rule, because it there is no longer a bank of “agreed national tests”.

Awarding organisations must:
• participate in cross-awarding organisation moderation activities for internal assessment
• carry out random checks, after the final date of completion, where nearly completed portfolios were included in the Moderation process
Rule not needed

General Conditions of Recognition already require awarding organisations to carry out effective moderation (Condition H2)

Related Articles