From education to employment

Shipley College manger shortlisted for national award

Diane France, Health & Safety Officer, Shipley College

A member of staff from Shipley College has been shortlisted for a national Health & Safety Manager of the Year award.

Diane France, Health & Safety Officer, was nominated for the category in the Safety & Health Excellence Awards, sponsored by NQA who provide accredited certification training and support services to help businesses improve processes, performance and products and services.

The category is designed to recognise a health and safety manager who made a significant contribution to the implementation or enhancement of health, safety or wellbeing standards within either their own or a client organisation.

The awards take place on Wednesday 11th April and Diane is the only nominee from the education sector.

Linda O’Donnell, Head of Business Development, explains, “Diane undertakes a wide range of activities and monitoring in her daily role.  This includes the health and safety aspect for the listed buildings and the safety of staff, students and visitors, but also for the well being and fundraising events that are planned and promoted within the College.”

Diane explains, “Health and safety is an intrinsic part of everyone’s work life and it is when staff are ‘doing health and safety’ as part of their day to day job without thinking about it I feel that we are getting there.”

I take an active lead promoting a positive health and safety culture across Shipley College with staff, students, visitors, volunteers and contractors, however it is every individual’s behaviour which is the key.  I enjoy being involved in all aspects of the College and consider my nomination as the culmination of my work life experience in management, Further Education and health & safety to date. I am looking forward to attending the awards ceremony and dinner at the National Exhibition Centre  in Birmingham.

The award winners will be announced on 11 April at a black tie gala dinner hosted by Rory Bremner.  

Wishing good luck to all nominees, obviously especially Diane France!

Related Articles