From education to employment

The sixth annual NEON Awards – winners announced

The 2019 National Education Opportunities Network (NEON) Awards were presented by Lord Watson of Invergowrie at the Palace of Westminster on Thursday 2nd May. The event was kindly hosted by Gordon Marsden MP, Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Further Education and Skills.

NEON was founded in 2012 as the professional organisation to support those involved in promoting social mobility through widening access to higher education. NEON brings together Higher Education Institutions, schools, colleges, the voluntary sector, professional bodies and employers. Over 80 higher education providers from across England and Wales are members of NEON and they teach over 70% of England’s undergraduate students.

The NEON Awards provide a platform to celebrate the successes and accomplishments of NEON’s members and their learners in widening access to higher education and enabling social mobility.

Director of NEON, Dr. Graeme Atherton, states:

‘With over 90 nominations, shortlisting was a difficult process and it has highlighted the outstanding work that is being carried out by both institutions and individuals across the UK.’

Please see below for the winners and commendations from the 2019 NEON Awards.

NEON Contribution to Widening Access Award

Gail Nicholls, University of Leeds – WINNER

Ian Freedman, Harper Adams University – Commendation

Lisa Jackson, University of Cumbria – Commendation

NEON Higher Education Institution of the Year Award

City, University of London – WINNER

The University of Nottingham – Commendation

University of Winchester – Commendation

NEON School or College Widening Access Award

Kings College, Guildford – WINNER

Energy Coast University Technical College – Commendation

Peacehaven Community School – Commendation

NEON Students of the Year Award

Alison Vitalis, University of East London – WINNER

Leanne Armitage, St George’s, University of London – Commendation

Rochelle Watson, Kingston University – Commendation

Salma Mahmoud and Hawwa Bham, Lancaster University – Commendation

NEON Widening Access Initiative (Outreach) Award

BrightMed, University of Sussex, Brighton & Sussex Medical School – WINNER

Medical Aspirations, University of East Anglia – Commendation

The Access Project – Commendation

NEON Widening Access Initiative (Retention and Progression) Award

Plus Programme, University of Leeds – WINNER

KU Cares, Kingston University – Commendation

The HELM Project, Blackpool and The Fylde College – Commendation

NEON Widening Access Partnership Award

Finding Our Futures, Kings College, Guildford and the University of Surrey – WINNER

Kent and Medway Progression Federation – Commendation

Reading Together, Queen’s University, Belfast – Commendation

The Service Children’s Progression Alliance, University of Winchester – Commendation

Related Articles