From education to employment

Thousands graduate at Imperial College’s first in-person Commemoration Day since 2019


Almost 2,400 students will attend three ceremonies in the Royal Albert Hall to receive their undergraduate degrees.

It is Imperial’s first in-person graduation event to take place since 2019, with tens of thousands of family and friends across the globe watching the graduation ceremonies via a dedicated website and livestream.

Addressing Imperial’s latest graduates, Imperial’s President, Professor Alice Gast, said: “This time of change is as exhilarating as it is unsettling. You have opportunities to seize and changes to navigate. You have the ability to become leaders in this rapidly changing world. I know you will help make the world a better and safer place.”

Three honorary degrees will be conferred as part of the Commemoration Day ceremonies:

Professor Howard R. Morris FRS

Professor Morris first joined Imperial in 1975 as a Lecturer in Biochemistry, and he is now Emeritus Professor of Biological Chemistry and a Senior Research Investigator. The recipient of numerous awards for his pioneering work in biomolecular mass spectrometry, Professor Morris’s work has included discoveries at the structure and method development levels.

Dr Hayaatun Sillem CBE

Dr Sillem is Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Academy of Engineering and Chief Executive Officer of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation. She chairs the UK Government’s Innovation Expert Group and the St Andrews Prize for the Environment. Alongside Sir Lewis Hamilton, Dr Sillem also co-chaired the Hamilton Commission, which aims to improve representation of Black people in UK motorsport.

Sarah Wilkinson

Sarah is CIO of Thomson Reuters and Head of TR Labs, Thomson Reuters technology research and innovation centres worldwide. She is also a Non-Executive Director of NatWest Markets, the investment banking arm of the NatWest Group. Sarah studied Mathematics at Imperial, and currently sits on an advisory committee for the College’s Department of Computing.

Related Articles