From education to employment

New Southwark sixth form centre officially opened by Lord Mayor of London

London Map

A new state-of-the-art sixth form centre has been officially opened to provide first-class facilities for City of London Academy, Southwark students.

The new building, which was opened by Lord Mayor Peter Estlin on Thursday, will accommodate 400 students.

The sixth form, which is located on the corner of Rotherhithe New Road and Verney Road, a short distance from the main school site, currently has 325 students and will grow further over the next year.

The design process has had significant input from students including consulting on the first-floor plan layouts and interior design features such as the furniture style, interior colour themes and classroom design.

The new building includes glass walls, a large open plan study centre and flexible learning spaces for both staff and students based on a more contemporary theme.

Richard Bannister Executive Principal at City of London Academy Southwark said:

“This is a first-class learning environment for our current and future students. I hope their new space will motivate, inspire and encourage their learning so that they can reach their full academic potential.”

Andrew McMurtrie, Chair of the City of London Academies Trust, said:

“The sixth form centre is a fantastic area for the academy’s students to learn, excel and enjoy their experience whilst at City of London Academy Southwark.

“We are committed to providing a high-quality learning environment for our students and look forward to welcoming the next class of students to their new sixth form in 2019.”

The City of London Corporation sponsors or co-sponsors 10 academies across Hackney, Newham, Islington and Southwark. In 2017, Sutton Trust named the City Corporation as the UK’s best academy sponsor for empowering pupils from disadvantaged backgrounds to perform above the national average, and the leading academy sponsor for Progress 8 and Attainment 8, which track pupil progress and achievement.

About the City of London Corporation

The City of London Corporation is the governing body of the Square Mile dedicated to a vibrant and thriving City, supporting a diverse and sustainable London within a globally-successful UK.

About the City of London Corporation’s academies

The City of London Corporation has a unique family of schools comprising one maintained primary school, 10 sponsored or co-sponsored academies in London boroughs, and three independent schools of which two are located within the Square Mile.

The City of London Corporation sponsors, co-sponsors or governs the following schools:

Co-sponsored academies

O City of London Academy, Islington (co-sponsor City University)

O The City Academy, Hackney (co-sponsor KPMG)

City of London Academies Trust:

O City of London Academy (Southwark)

O Redriff Primary, City of London Academy

O Galleywall Primary, City of London Academy

O City of London Primary Academy Islington

O City of London Academy Highgate Hill

O City of London Academy Highbury Grove

O City of London Academy Shoreditch Park

O Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre City of London Academy

Local Authority maintained school:

O Sir John Cass’s Foundation Primary School


O City of London School

O City of London School for Girls

O City of London Freemen’s School

Related Articles