From education to employment

The Tes FE Awards are now open for entries

The Tes FE Awards 2018 are now open for entries. The awards are in partnership with the Education and Training Foundation to showcases expertise in the sector. Skills and Apprenticeships Minister Anne Milton said the awards are “a great way to recognise the sector’s top talent and give them the credit they deserve”.

The awards will be held on Friday 23 February 2018 at The Grosvenor House hotel in London’s Park Lane, with a 17 awards up for grabs. There are two new awards this year: specialist provider of the year and adult and community provider of the year. Acknowledging this change, the overall provider of the year award will now be selected from the recipients of the training provider of the year, sixth-form college of the year, FE college of the year and the two new awards.

The winner of both the college of the year and overall provider of the year titles at the 2017 Tes FE Awards was South Tyneside College, Principal Lindsey Whiterod said:  “The awards have brought immense recognition at national level and have put us on the education map. It is a landmark in the life of any college.”

Susan Pember, director of policy and external relations at adult education body Holex, said the inclusion of a separate adult community learning category was “excellent news”. “Including them in this way will allow their remarkable contributions to education and personal development to be recognised,” she added.

The categories

  • Lifetime achievement
  • Support for learners
  • Contribution to the local community
  • Best teaching and learning initiative
  • Outstanding use of technology for improving teaching, learning and assessment
  • Employer engagement
  • Assessor of the year
  • Professional services team of the year
  • Apprenticeship programme of the year
  • Teacher of the year
  • FE leader of the year
  • FE college of the year
  • Training provider of the year
  • Sixth-form college of the year
  • Specialist provider of the year
  • Adult and community learning provider of the year

How to enter 

Entry is free and open to all further education establishments in the UK. Simply submit 500 words on why you should win, before midnight on Friday 27 October 2017 at Find out if you’ve made the shortlist on Friday 15 December 2017. The winners will be revealed at a glittering awards ceremony on Friday 23 February 2018 at The Grosvenor House hotel in London’s Park Lane.

Related Articles