From education to employment

AUCSO announces Annual Awards 2023 shortlist

The Association of University Chief Security Officers (AUCSO), the leading organisation for security professionals working in Higher and Further Education around the world, has announced its Annual Awards 2023 shortlist.

The winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner on Thursday 20 April 2023 at the Signet Library in Edinburgh.

The award ceremony forms part of the 2023 AUCSO Annual Conference and AGM taking place from Tuesday 18 April 2023 until Thursday 20 April 2023. This year’s Conference theme is ‘The Changing Face of Security in Higher Education’ and will see over 200 delegates attend from Higher Education organisations in the UK and Ireland, Australia, South Africa, USA, Qatar as well as a large contingent from Europe.

The Annual Awards celebrate the amazing work security teams have achieved within their institutions during 2022.

The awards shortlist is:

AUCSO Security Officer of the Year

Jean McKinlay ,University of Glasgow

Paul McCarry, University of Glasgow

Mark Neary, Manchester Metropolitan University

Gina Hamilton, Heriot-Watt University

Ian MacAdam, Edge Hill University

AUCSO Security Team of the Year

Security Team D – Colchester, University of Essex

Campus Security Team 1, University of Glasgow

AUCSO Security Manager of the Year

Dale Murphy, University of Hertfordshire

Cliff Law, Kings College London

Adrian Dennehy, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Gary Stephen, University of Glasgow

Commenting on the awards shortlist, AUCSO Chief Operating Officer, Julie Barker, says:

“We’re delighted to announce this year’s awards shortlist and it’s wonderful to see such a breadth of universities being shortlisted from across the UK. 

“As with previous years, the awards are hugely competitive with so many great submissions it’s always so difficult to select the shortlist. We’re very much looking forward to announcing the winners later this month at our glittering Black Tie Gala Dinner.”

Related Articles