From education to employment

Have you added your nominations for the TES FE Awards 2017?

Nominations for TES FE Awards 2017 in association with the Education and Training Foundation are now open.

In total there are 16 award categories, from teacher of the year and best teaching and learning initiative to lifetime achievement and outstanding use of technology.

This year, TES are introducing two new awards:

–      Assessor of the year category

–      The professional services team of the year category, which will recognise teams working in administration and back-office positions.

This year’s TES FE Awards 2017 categories are:

  • Lifetime achievement
  • Support for learners
  • Contribution to the local community
  • Best teaching and learning initiative
  • Outstanding use of technology for improving teaching, learning and assessment
  • Marketing/communications campaign of the year
  • Employer engagement
  • Assessor of the year
  • Professional services team of the year
  • Apprenticeship programme of the year
  • Teacher of the year
  • FE leader of the year
  • FE college of the year
  • Training provider of the year
  • Sixth-form college of the year
  • Overall FE provider of the year

Robert Halfon Skills MinisterApprenticeship and Skills Minister, Robert Halfon said the TES FE Awards were “a crucial way…to celebrate excellence and give those who have worked so hard, and transformed the life chances of so many people, the credit they deserve”.

He added: “There are some outstanding individuals and institutions in further education – working tirelessly to ensure all learners get on the ladder of opportunity to fulfil their potential.”

stephen exley 100x100Stephen Exley, TES FE editor, said: “Winning an award can have a transformational impact on institutions and individuals. And we are introducing two new categories to shine a light on those unsung heroes working behind the scenes who don’t always get the credit they deserve.

“We at TES are delighted to celebrate the best that the FE sector has to offer.”


Entry is free and open to all FE establishments in the UK. The deadline for entries is midnight on Friday 28 October 2016. The shortlist will be announced on 16 December, and the winners will be revealed on 24 February 2017 in a ceremony at Grosvenor House in London.

For further information, including full details of how to enter, please visit

Related Articles