From education to employment

Finalists for 2019 ERSA Employability Awards announced

Today, ERSA announced the finalists for the 2019 Employability Awards at its AGM in London. The list of finalists includes a wide range of organisations and individuals demonstrating exceptional service and support to help people into employment.

Now in its seventh year, the ERSA Employability Awards celebrate best practice across the employment support sector and seek to demonstrate the day-to-day hard work and dedication of those working to improve the lives of jobseekers, communities and the wider workforce. 

The ten award categories highlight the breadth of work supporting people into employment, from advisers working with jobseekers to build their confidence, to organisations pioneering innovative ways of supporting people onto the right career path, and employers going that extra mile to support those with greater needs.

The 2019 ERSA Employability Awards received over 150 entries from across the UK. This year’s submissions were judged by an all-star panel, consisting of internationally recognised political thinker and Director of ResPublica, Phillip Blond, editor of The Sun’s employment page, Jane Hamilton, senior civil servant at the Department for Work and Pensions, Mark Staley, and Winner of Adviser of the Year in the 2018 awards, Tanya Weston of Genius Within.

The winners will be announced at a special ceremony on 20 June, attended by the Minister for Employment, Alok Sharma MP.

ERSA’s Interim Chief Executive, Elizabeth Taylor, said: 

‘The ERSA Employability Awards attracted a huge number of high-quality entries from a diverse and innovative range of organisations. The judges had the unenviable task of selecting finalists from an extremely strong field of candidates, all of which showcase the superb work taking place in our sector. 

‘We look forward to welcoming finalists to the awards ceremony on 20 June, along with the Minister for Employment, Alok Sharma, to enjoy an evening of celebration for organisations, employers and individuals that are making a difference.’

The full list of finalists is as follows: 

1. Youth Employment

Recognising an employment services provider who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in delivering employment services for young adults.

  • Barnardo’s – The Building Hope Academy
  • Sheffield Futures
  • Adviza Partnership – Wellbeing Team
  • Birmingham Youth Offending Service
  • Sheffield City Council
  • Qube Learning
  • East London Business Alliance (ELBA) – The Parity Project

 2. Disability and Health Employment

Recognising an employment services provider who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in supporting jobseekers with disabilities and health conditions to achieve sustained employment.

  • Pluss
  • APM
  • The Poppy Factory
  • Kennedy Scott
  • Manchester Deaf Centre – The Job Club
  • Reed in Partnership (nominated by Croydon Council)
  • Hereward College

 3. Partner of the Year

Recognising excellence as a delivery partner in the field of employment support

  • Sussex Community Development Association (nominated by Shaw Trust)
  • Warrington Disability Partnership – New Leaf Team (nominated by ComMutual)
  • Successful Mums
  • Better Off Finance (nominated by The Women’s Organisation)
  • SETAS (nominated by Kennedy Scott)
  • The ‘One Destination’ Partnership (nominated by London Learning Consortium)
  • GLLaB – Greenwich Local Labour and Business

 4. Innovation

Recognising a provider who has pioneered innovative approaches and solutions within the employment support market.

  • LearnBox
  • Belina (nominated by G4S)
  • Milton Keynes College
  • Jobskilla
  • The Aster Group – Project ASpect
  • Reform Radio
  • BEAM

 5. Large Employer

Recognising a large employer who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in creating opportunities for disadvantaged and long-term unemployed jobseekers.

  • Greene King (nominated by Jo Churchill MP)
  • Allianz UK (nominated by Seetec)
  • Clipper Logistics (nominated by Royal Mencap Society)
  • Northern Devon Healthcare Trust
  • Debenhams (nominated by SPS Training Solutions Limited)

 6. SME of the Year

Recognising a small or medium employer who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in creating opportunities for disadvantaged and long-term unemployed jobseekers.”

  • CPUK Civils (nominated by NOVUS)
  • Citizens Advice Rhondda Cynon Taff (nominated by ITEC Training Solutions Ltd)
  • Fun4Kidz (nominated by Sefton@Work)
  • The Entertainer (nominated by Shaw Trust)

7. Team of the Year

Recognising a team of frontline staff which has demonstrated outstanding commitment in meeting and exceeding the delivery aims of an employment provider.

  • Elite Supported Employment Agency
  • London Borough of Newham – Workplace Supported Employment Team (SET)
  • London Borough of Brent – The Living Room
  • Reed in Partnership – DWP ESF Work Routes Team Peterborough
  • RNIB – Employment Team
  • Qube Learning – The Bradford Youth Development Team

8. Adviser of the Year

Recognising an employment adviser who has demonstrated exceptional commitment in a frontline role.

  • Jason Davis (nominated by Clarion Futures)
  • Vickie Chalmers (nominated by Groundwork Manchester Salford Stockport Tameside & Trafford)
  • Emma Davis (nominated by FedCap Employment – Links to Work)
  • Kate Stenlake (nominated by Genius Within)
  • Michael Laws (nominated by RBLI)
  • Natalie Rees (nominated by Itec Skills & Employment)
  • Paul Hanman (nominated by Swindon Council)
  • Charlotte McDonald (nominated by Transform Lives Company)

9. Significant Achievement

Recognising a specific jobseeker who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to overcoming barriers to enter and maintain work.

  • Rebecca Jackson (nominated by Ingeus)
  • Chanel Allen (nominated by Working Chance)
  • Paul Ntulila (nominated by London Borough of Newham)
  • James Croucher (nominated by Links to Work)
  • Suzanne Winser (nominated by Belina GRoW)
  • Andrea Barns (nominated by FedCap Employment – Links to Work)
  • George Dobbie (nominated by Seetec)

Related Articles